Light moves through

The Wild Life

Climbing Beacon Rock is not nearly as impressive as the story of the man who hacked out the trail many years ago. Another impressive thing is the voracity of the summit chipmunks who stand on your boot and give you miniature high fives in the hopes of winning a wee bite. The northwest jays are in on the racket too, squawking and preening and swooping. I once would have decried this borderline domestication but now I relax into a pleasant cohabitation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

21 responses

  1. What a pretty bird!

    June 18, 2012 at 6:33 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      This one really stood out for some reason, I felt like I was seeing a jay like I hadn’t before. Thanks for stopping by.

      June 18, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  2. Marylin Dodd

    Dear Noel, yet another amazing capture of the magnificence of God’s creations. My favorite is the Columbia River Gorge, I can hear the roar of the water. Thank you for giving me the miracles of your immense talent to my day.
    marylin

    June 18, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      That’s very kind of you Marilyn, thank you for visiting and listening to the water with me for a moment.

      June 18, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  3. Nandini

    Loved these! Beautiful! 🙂 The bird has got such fantastic colors. 🙂

    June 18, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      Thank you Nandini! It was great to really see that jay, I had never noticed the variation between body and wing before.

      June 19, 2012 at 9:47 am

  4. perrrrty

    June 19, 2012 at 8:47 am

    • Noel Tendick

      Thank ye kindly.

      June 19, 2012 at 9:48 am

  5. Wow! Great photos!

    June 21, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      Thank you very much!

      June 24, 2012 at 5:40 pm

  6. These creatures are clearly very comfortable in your presence. You have captured their confident, bold characters very well.

    June 26, 2012 at 3:47 am

    • Noel Tendick

      They were a generally pretty comfortable lot. 🙂 Thank you Margaret.

      June 26, 2012 at 10:08 pm

  7. Hi! I’ve nominated you for the Illuminating Blogger Award http://wp.me/p27eXb-8p Best Wishes!

    July 15, 2012 at 11:22 am

    • Noel Tendick

      Very kind of you, thank you!

      July 16, 2012 at 10:12 am

  8. You know I am partial to wildlife shots. Love them all. 🙂

    July 26, 2012 at 8:29 am

    • Noel Tendick

      Thank you Sofia! I’m partial to the wildlife too.

      July 26, 2012 at 9:43 am

  9. Wow to that bird… such colour.. Great shots all of them from one nature lover to another !

    July 26, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      Thanks Helen! Yes, that bird was something else, I’m so glad he stopped by to model for a bit.

      July 27, 2012 at 8:11 am

  10. elmediat

    The jay shots are very eye-catching.

    September 9, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      Those jays certainly caught my eye, I’m glad I could return the favor.

      September 10, 2012 at 9:58 am

Leave a Reply

