Light moves through

People the Light

What an extraordinary joy it is to take people’s pictures. I spent many long years in the wilds eschewing photos of folks, cropping them out of the shot when they were there at all, spending days adrift in clouds and mountains and waves as I chewed on twigs. I still love that work, but as friends and strangers have been taking the risk of stepping in front of my camera, I’ve been learning about so much: the mechanics of posing, flattering bends and beneficial angles; how to use the lighting from sun or stand; and the connection, giving space to allow people to emerge, coaxing them along, and jumping in to create alongside.  In this set are a few of the couples and families I’ve shot with. I’m grateful to all who have allowed me to stumble along working with them, and I look forward to working with more.

I almost forgot! You can now view more Noel Tendick Photography on my portfolio site, where you will soon be able to purchase prints as well. You can even like my FB page, if you can believe that nonsense.

2 responses

  1. Sophia

    Beautiful people. You do a great job of capturing their essence.

    January 22, 2012 at 10:50 pm

    • Noel Tendick

      Thanks Sophia. It’s quite a practice to find that moment of light.

      January 23, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Leave a Reply

